Traveling Art “Works”

I always had a passion for art as long as I could remember. I would beg my mother to drive me to the local bookstore where I would spend hours lying on the ground in the art section. I would emerge myself in a collection of art history books that had the most photographs of master artworks. I can remember the frustration I had with never being able to see the actual paint strokes of Van Gogh’s Starry Night, having only a small image of his painting to demonstrate his genius. I swore to myself that one-day I would travel to all the museums in the world. It only recently occurred to me that part of the reason I couldn’t see these master works was because they never traveled to see me.

Independent Journalist Judith H. Dobrzynski discusses in Unconventional Partnerships: Let’s Have More the growing number of prestigious museums partnering with smaller less popular ones, allowing famous artworks to travel to communities that would otherwise never have the opportunity to view them. One must consider the political side of sharing artworks with smaller “venues.” The reputation of a curator and the local audience are some of the things a museum must consider when lending out artwork. It doesn’t exactly benefit a more established museum to lend out art to another museum that can’t also share famous works or simply does not have the popularity to attract enough of an audience to see them. Still, I feel these partnerships are important and could really help keep older artist relevant in communities that have no direct connection to their work.

It certainly would have been beneficial for me as a child if I were given more opportunities to have a first hand experience with these iconic artworks with out the hassle of having to travel the world. We need more reputable museums willing to partner with other places that may not have the proper prestige if we hope to reach a broader audience of people.  Providing more people with the chance to see more artwork is certainly never a bad thing and is always beneficial. 

Leave a Reply

